The Ultimate Tattoo

For years I have been a big admirer of tattoos. I have always been fascinated by artwork and pictures (even made it a career) so it seemed right up my alley. I watched all the Miami-, New York- and London-Ink shows and was envious of friends with cool tattoos. So why did I remain inkless? Putting something permanent on your body, something that (in theory) will always stay there is not something you should decide lightly.

What if you regretted it later? What if it goes out of style? What if you’re marriage ends and you have a giant portrait of your wife on your back? And it doesn’t seem like my favourite football (soccer for you American heathens) team is going to win a championship any time soon. So what to do? I needed to know that what I put on my body would be something that had meaning and I would never regret. But I never figured out what that should be and so, to my own displeasure, I remained a blank canvas.

20140821_180435   20140821_180932

Until now…

Because ever since we started working on Captain Ultimate it felt like something special. An all-ages comic with a positive message and lots and lots of fun. A project I am extremely proud of. And that’s when I knew, I found my tattoo.

And so, two weeks ago I finally went ahead with it. Unbeknownst to almost everyone, I made an appointment and headed to the tattoo-shop. Even my Captain Ultimate collaborators Joey, Ben, Adam and Ed didn’t know until I was sitting in the chair and sent them a picture of my current whereabouts. Needless to say, they approved 😉

IMG-20140828-WA0008

Now, two weeks later, the bloodbath that was my arm has healed and you can see the end result in all its moustachioed glory. And I couldn’t be happier. I am as proud of the tattoo as I am about the comic and know it will be a constant reminder of an amazing period of my life.

Boy
(you know, that guy that who draws all the pictures)

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment